The EFI was founded shortly after the Second World War as the "Institute for Nuclear Studies" and is now named in honor of Enrico Fermi, who was one of the founders and a distinguished member of the Institute.

Enrico Fermi
Samuel Allison, first director of the EFI
Roger Hildebrand, EFI Director (1965-1968)
From left, John Simpson, UC President George Beadle, and James Webb (Administrator of NASA), at inauguration of LASR building in 1964.
Previous EFI Directors, on left John Simpson (1973-1978) and Peter Meyer (1978-1983)
Opening of the Institute of Nuclear Studies. Details at: http://photoarchive.lib.uchicago.edu/db.xqy?keywords=apf1-05555